Welcome to Our SMSP Samskrit Adhyayana Kendram


शालीवाहनशके सुखोदयमिते क्रोध्यब्दके श्रावणे
पक्षे श्यामलके द्वितीयदिवसे शालेयमाविष्कृता ।
दिक्पालैरिव भव्यगेयचरितैः संवर्धिता राजताम् ॥

श्रीश्रीमन्मध्वसिद्धान्तप्रबॊधिन्यमृतप्रदा ।
कामधेनुर्बुधाराध्या राजतां राजतासने ॥

Bhargavarama, standing on the west face of mountain Mahendra near the sea, feared that it would be a catastrophic error if he lives on the land which he donated to vipra’s, which he had conquered from the enemies by taking the circulation around the earth 21 times. As he wanted, the sea moved slightly west. Thus, this scenic coastal region, beginning with the nasika’s Triyambakeshwara to the Kanyakumari of the South, has become the brink of the Indian Goddess’s saree. This is the Parashurama kshetra.

There are as many rivers, mountains, and varieties of flora as there are in Ramakshetra. There are several shrines. One of them is a field of ‘Rajatapeetha’. 'Shivalli' is a colloquial name. The seat of the lord Anantheshwara, the god of this field, is silver. Hence, it got the name as Rajatapeetha or Raupyapeetha. Another feather in this field is, Impressed by the penance of moon, the lord Shiva stayed here as Lord Chandramauleeshwar. This gave the place another name, Udupi. It is fortunate that Impressed by the penance of Madhvacharya, Lord Krishna stayed here and added to the glory of this land. Such a fine field is today known as Udupi. The place is a legendary place and one of the safest places to visit. The word about it is famous –

रौप्यपीठं कुमाराद्रिः कुम्भासिश्च ध्वजेश्वरः ।
क्रोडगोकर्णमूकाम्बा सप्तैते मोक्षदायकाः ॥

Such a well-known field emerged in the thirteenth century by the pioneers of dwaitha mata, Srimanmadvacharya. His masters were Achyutapragnacharya. He is the incarnation of Vayu, who was born in the native village of Udupi, Pajaka. He defended the dualist theory by asserting that the distinction between the Jiva-Brahmas is permanent. His philosophy is manifested by the following shloka

श्रीमन्मध्वमते हरिः परतरः सत्यं जगत्तत्त्वतो
भिन्ना जीवगणा हरेरनुचरा नीचोच्चभावं गताः ।
मुक्तिर्नैजसुखानुभूतिरमला भक्तिश्च तत्साधनं
ह्यक्षादित्रितयं प्रमाणमखिलाम्नायैकवेद्यो हरिः ॥

He built a monastery for the worship of his idol, Lord Krishna, and assigned eight disciples to propagate his worship and dualism. These are the original yatis of Ashtamath. A number of young artists who later emerged in their heritage, elevated the field with their hard penance. The Ashtamatha Yatis, who continued on the path laid down by their ancestors, worked hard to protect the Sanskrit and Shastras.

The then astamatadhisha’s who were the founder of our college –

1. Sri Sri Sudheendra Theertha Swamiji Sri Puttika Matha
2. Sri Sri Vibhudhapriya Theertha Swamiji Sri Adamaru Matha
3. Sri Sri Vidhyapoorna Theertha Swamiji Sri Krishnapura Matha
4. Sri Sri Raghupriya Theertha Swamiji Sri Palimaru Matha
5. Sri Sri Vishvajna Theertha Swamiji Sri Pejavara Matha
6. Sri Sri Laxmisamudra Theertha Swamiji Sri Shiroor Matha
7. Sri Sri Vishwendra Theertha Swamiji Sri Sodhe Matha
8. Sri Sri Vidhyasamudra Theertha Swamiji Sri Kaniyuru Matha

Until then, the school was run by the headmaster, and in 1919 it was recognized by the University of Madras as a college. Madikeri Dasapayya became the first professor to be appointed as a principal of the college.

This college, which is a center of study and teaching of Vedas and Shastras, moved from Srimadantheshwara Temple to Sri Chandra Mouleeshwara Temple and later to Kadekoppala Math after the number of student has been increased. When the need for a mansion came into existence, the Udupi-based Doctor U Ramaraya donated about one and a half acres of vacant land which was located at the heart of Udupi as a donation to the college building. In 1952 AD, the college became a magnificent mansion.

Although every peethadhipati were responsible for this college building’s construction, but there is no doubt that major responsibilities were handled by Sri Vibhudapriya Theertha Swamiji of Sri Admaru matha. Unfortunately while fundraising for the building he breathed his last, later the task was undertaken by the Sri Ragumanya Theertha Swamiji of Sri Palimaru matha. When he directed the sculptor to build a sturdy foundation and engaged in fund raising, unluckily, he too breathed his last. When the building construction was halved, Sri Sri Vibudhesh Theertha Swamiji, the disciple of Sri Adamaru Math, took the responsibility and completed the building in the year 1951.

It was inaugurated on 14.6.1951 by the Honorable Shri BG Kher, who were the Chief Minister of the Bombay Province at that time. It is worth noting that the college building was built at a cost of Rs. 3 lakhs. Today, nearly 70 years old, the Shastra's legacy continues with the teachings by capable scholars.

It is a matter of pride that the students studying in this Sanskrit College are working as a abbots (Mathadhipati), priest, critics, poets, astrologers , lecturer in colleges and universities and serving in the prestigious arena of society is a delightful thing.

Among them were the nobles who made their life as Yati's. Some of them are as following –

1. Sri Vidhyamanya Theertha Swamiji Sri Krishnapura Matha
2. Sri Vidhyamanya Theertha Swamiji Sri Palimaru Matha and Sri Bhandariker Matha
3. Sri Vidhyadhisha Theertha Swamiji Sri Palimaru Matha
4. Sri Vidhyavarinidhi Theertha Swamiji Sri Kaniyuru Matha
5. Sri Vidhyavallabha Theertha Swamiji Sri Kaniyuru Matha
6. Sri Vidhyesh Theertha Swamiji Sri Bhandarker Matha
7. Sri Vishwaprasanna Theertha Swamiji Sri Pejavar Matha
8. Sri Sathyapramoda Theertha Swamiji Sri Uttaradi Matha
9. Sri Shankarabharathi Theertha Swamiji Sri Yadatore Matha

Not only that, Shri Laxmindra Theertha swamiji of Shri Shiroor matha, Shri Vibhudamanya Theertha Swamiji of Admaru matha, Shri Vibhudhesha Theertha Swamiji and Shri Vishwesha Theertha Swamiji of Shri Pejavara matha, Shri Vishwapriya Theertha Swamiji of Shri Admaru matha have blessed this college by giving lectures to the students of this college for a time being.

The following are the names of the gentlemen who served as pastors of this college –

1. Sri Madikeri Dasapayya 1921-22
2. Sri Udupi Venkatakrishna Rao 1922-24
3. Sri P.Hanumantachar 1924-29
4. Sri M. Ramachandra Rao 1939-49
5. Sri Padumannuru Narayanacharya 1949-50
6. Dr. B. N. K. Sharma 1949-50
7. Shiromani Kaulagi Sheshacharya 1951-62
8. Shiromani Narasimha Upadhyaya 1962-68
9. Shiromani Haridas Upadhyaya 1968-84
10. Vidhvan P. Laxminarayan Sharma 1984-02
11. Dr. H. K. Suresh Acharya 2002-18
12. Prof. N. Laxminarayana Bhat 2018-21

The Mahajana Sanskrit College of Nirchal in Kasaragod district, Shri Bhuvanendra Sanskrit College in Karkala and ours college were recognized as the centers of Sanskrit culture of that time. However, with the influence of the times, Mahajan Sanskrit college and Bhuvanendra Sanskrit college became modern educational centers.It is matter of the pride that our college has celebrated its centenary in 2004 with the blessing of the lord, the nurturing of the astamatha’s, and the good wishes of all Sanskrit lovers. Under the orders of the university this college has got its name as ‘Shri Manmadhva Siddhanta Prabodhaka Samskrita Adhyayana Kendra’.

Currently, this college has 4 Shastras (sections) namely Dvaita vedanta, Navina nyaya, Jyoutisha and Alankara. In each Shastra there are three years of Shastri classes’ equivalent to BA and two years Acharya classes’ equivalent to MA. The two year long Sahithya class, which is equivalent to the PUC, is also administered here to complement the Shastri class.